Select Page

The deadline for receipt of nominations – noon on 10 January 2012 – has now passed. As Returning Officer, I confirm that the nominations of the following 24 individuals, listed in random order, are valid:

Professor Richard Parnaby

Mr Rob Tate

Mr Alun Reginald Nicholas

Mr Alan Cook

Mr Bernard Stewart Wyld

Mr Andrew Mortimer

Mr Hans G Eisner

Mr Brian Godfrey

Mrs Pam Cole

Mr Roger Shrimplin

Ms Susan Ware

Mr Kirk Ray Morrison

Mr Patrick Inglis

Ms Ruth Brennan

Mr Simon Jonathan Potter

Mr Gordon Alexander Gibb

Mr Manos Stellakis

Miss Lisa Manidipa Basu

Mr John Assael

Mr Mark Westcott

Mr Michael Cummings

Mr Tom Young

Mr Alex Wright

Miss Azar Djamali

A poll will now be held for election to the Architects Registration Board. Only seven of the 24 candidates can be elected.

Electoral Reform Services (ERS) is the independent body overseeing the election. ERS will circulate the ballot material at the beginning of February 2012 to all architects entitled to vote in the election. The pack will contain everything you need to vote in the election, including details on how to cast your vote, whether you choose to vote online or opt for the more traditional postal method. If you haven’t received your pack by Friday 10 February, please phone ERS on 020 8365 8909.

Completed ballot papers must be received by the Returning Officer by noon on Thursday 1 March 2012. Any votes received after this deadline has passed will not be counted. ERS will advise me of the result of the election no later than 10 March 2012, following which I will announce the names of the seven architects who have been elected to serve on the Board from 1 April 2012 to 31 March 2015.

Alison Carr

Returning Officer


—- Ends —-

Notes for Editors

ARB is the statutory body established by Parliament under the Architects Act 1997 to regulate the UK architects’ profession in the public interest. The Act requires ARB, among other things, to:

• Maintain the Register of Architects (Section 3)

• Prescribe qualifications for entry to the Register of Architects (Section 4)

• Deal with competence to practise (Section 9)

• Issue a Code which lays down standards of professional conduct and practice (Section 13)

• Regulate use of the title “architect” and take action when it is being used unlawfully (Section 20)

ARB has a Board of 15 members, seven of whom are architects elected by the profession. The remaining eight are members of the public appointed by the Privy Council to represent the interests of consumers and users of architectural services.

Board members serve for a term of three years. They can, if re-elected or re-appointed, serve for two consecutive terms, six years in total. A Board member who has held office for a continuous period of six years may not be elected or appointed as a member until at least three years have elapsed since he or she last held office. Board members receive an allowance of £250 per day or part thereof spent on Board business.

The election is overseen by the independent body, Electoral Reform Services. A copy of the election rules is available on our website at ARB’s Electoral Scheme

Share This