Select Page

Voting in the 2012 election of architects to the Architects Registration Board closed at noon on Thursday 1 March 2012.

Electoral Reform Services has notified me of the votes cast, and I am pleased to announce the results, in order of election:

John Assael

Ruth Brennan

Hans G. Eisner

Andrew Mortimer

Susan Ware

Alex Wright

Richard Parnaby

The successful candidates will serve as Board members from 1 April 2012 to 31 March 2015.

Commenting after the election, Chair Beatrice Fraenkel said:

“Congratulations to all of those who have been successfully elected to the Board. I look forward to welcoming our colleagues to the Board, starting with an induction day in April. The induction day provides our newly-elected members with an introduction to the Board’s work as they begin to contribute to the delivery of our statutory role.

As a Board, we are acutely aware that we have a duty to ensure the consistently high standards of corporate governance that are expected of a public body and, as a Board, we will work together in promoting a culture that embraces diversity and honours our governance responsibilities in carrying forward the important work that we are charged with delivering.”

Number of ballot papers despatched 33,652

Number of ballot papers returned (by post) 3,532

Number of ballot papers returned (by internet) 1,105

Number of votes cast 4,637

Number of invalid ballot papers 19

Number of valid ballot papers counted 4,618

Percentage of eligible voters who voted 13.7%

Alison Carr

Returning Officer

Notes for Editors

Brief biographies for Ruth Brennan and Andrew Mortimer are available on ARB’s website here. Biographies for John Assael, Hans Eisner, Susan Ware, Alex Wright and Richard Parnaby will be available on the website with effect from 1 April.

ARB is the statutory body established by Parliament under the Architects Act 1997 to regulate the UK architects’ profession in the public interest. The Act requires ARB, among other things, to:

  • Maintain the Register of Architects (Section 3)
  • Prescribe qualifications for entry to the Register of Architects (Section 4)
  • Deal with competence to practise (Section 9)
  • Issue a Code which lays down standards of professional conduct and practice (Section 13)
  • Regulate use of the title “architect” and take action when it is being used unlawfully (Section 20)

ARB has a Board of 15 members, seven of whom are architects elected by the profession. The remaining eight are members of the public appointed by the Privy Council to represent the interests of consumers and users of architectural services.

Board members serve for a term of three years. They can, if re-elected or re-appointed, serve for two consecutive terms, six years in total. A Board member who has held office for a continuous period of six years may not be elected or appointed as a member until at least three years have elapsed since he or she last held office. Board members receive an allowance of £250 per day or part thereof spent on Board business.

Share This