Select Page

ARB confirms that the resignations of Board Members George Oldham and Ruth Brennan have today been accepted by the Board.

ARB has not received any formal notification from Ruth Brennan that she wishes to withdraw from the forthcoming election of architect members of the Board. The Board’s Electoral Scheme provides that where a candidate withdraws after ballot papers have been circulated but before the count is completed, votes for that candidate are disregarded.*

ARB Chair Beatrice Fraenkel commented:

“George Oldham and Ruth Brennan were right to resign. It is very important that there should be no doubt as to the principles by which ARB operates.”

*The election takes place using a single transferable vote system in which electors express an order of preferences for the candidates.

Notes for Editors

ARB is the statutory body established by Parliament under the Architects Act 1997 to regulate the UK architects’ profession in the public interest. The Act requires ARB, among other things, to:

  • Maintain the Register of Architects (Section 3)
  • Prescribe qualifications for entry to the Register of Architects (Section 4)
  • Deal with competence to practise (Section 9)
  • Issue a Code which lays down standards of professional conduct and practice (Section 13)
  • Regulate use of the title “architect” and take action when it is being used unlawfully (Section 20)

ARB has a Board of 15 members, seven of whom are architects elected by the profession. The remaining eight are members of the public appointed by the Privy Council to represent the interests of consumers and users of architectural services.

Share This