Select Page

ARB is pleased to announce that following the election for the Chair and Vice Chair of the Board, both Beatrice Fraenkel and Richard Parnaby have been returned unopposed to the posts of Board Chair and Vice Chair respectively.   Beatrice Fraenkel was nominated by Alan Jago and Andrew Mortimer, while Beatrice Fraenkel and Alex Wright nominated Richard Parnaby.

Speaking after the election, Beatrice said:

“It is a great privilege to serve ARB and the Board as its Chair, and I am grateful to the Board for having the trust in me to elect me once again as Chair.  I am also pleased that Richard Parnaby has been re-elected to serve as Vice Chair, and I look forward to working with him for a further year.  Both Richard and I, and all the Board, are firmly committed to delivering our responsibilities under the Architects Act and further ensuring that we continue to be an effective regulator that both the public and the profession can have confidence in.”

Vice Chair Richard Parnaby added:

“I would echo Beatrice’s sentiments about the privilege of serving the Board as its Vice Chair for a further year.  I look forward to working with Beatrice and my Board colleagues in the coming year as we continue to strengthen ARB’s reputation as a firm but fair regulator in the eyes of the public and the profession.“

Both appointments are effective immediately and both are for a one-year term.


Notes for Editors

Beatrice Fraenkel is a qualified Industrial Design Engineer and ergonomist.  She has worked in the private sector for many years, having built up a family owned property business. A Liverpool City Councillor since 1986, Beatrice specialises in regeneration, economic growth and culture, and holds a series of leadership positions relating to these areas, usually working across the public/private sector divide. She was the lead member responsible for Liverpool’s successful bid to become European Capital of Culture. As Independent Chair of the N.W. Regional Centre of Excellence, Beatrice led the development of a Regional Design Review Panel and helped develop and deliver a regional understanding of the economic impact of design, and the impact of design on developing sustainable communities.  Her work in improving quality in the built environment was recognised by a personal award by CABE. Beatrice is Chairman of Mersey Care NHS Trust and Chair of Cosmopolitan Housing Association.  She has a trained background in regulatory work, having chaired the Liverpool Standards Committee and served as a Non-executive Director on the Standards Board for England. Beatrice is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and a member of the Institute of Directors.

Richard Parnaby studied architecture and planning in Liverpool and Oregon. He worked as an architect in Vancouver in the 1970s and was a partner in Brown &Parnaby Architects in Abergavenny from 1980 to 1996.  Richard taught at the Welsh School of Architecture from 1982 to 1987. In 1996, he joined UWE where he has played a key role in developing the first new school of architecture in the UK since the 1960s centred on unique joint undergraduate courses in architecture and planning and architecture and environmental engineering. He was the first chairman of the Design Commission for Wales established in 2002 by the Welsh Government to champion good architecture, urban design and landscape design. He has been President of the Royal Society of Architects in Wales, a nationally elected member of RIBA council and a member of its board. He is a member of the council of the Standing Conference of Heads of Schools of Architecture (SCHOSA) and a trustee of the Architecture Centre, Bristol.

ARB is the statutory body established by Parliament under the Architects Act 1997 to regulate the UK architects’ profession in the public interest. The Act requires ARB (among other things) to:

• Maintain the Register of Architects (Section 3)
• Prescribe qualifications for entry to the Register of Architects (Section 4)
• Deal with competence to practise (Section 9)
• Issue a Code which lays down standards of professional conduct and practice (Section 13)
• Regulate use of the title “architect” and prosecute those who use it unlawfully (Section 20)

Board members serve for a term of three years. They can, if re-elected or re-appointed, serve for two consecutive terms, six years in total. A Board member who has held office for a continuous period of six years may not be elected or appointed as a member until at least three years have elapsed since he or she last held office. Board members receive an allowance of £250 per day or part thereof spent on Board business. The Chair and Vice Chair are elected on an annual basis under Rule 6 of the Board’s General Rules.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This