Select Page

ARB has a Board of fifteen members, seven of whom are architects elected by the profession. The remaining eight are members of the public appointed by the Privy Council to represent the users and potential users of architectural services.

The Board elects a Chair and a Vice Chair annually, and the conduct of the election is governed by the Board’s General Rule 6. The Board re-elected Beatrice Fraenkel as Chair in March of this year, and it is now electing a Vice Chair, following the recent election of architect members to the Board.

The position of Vice Chair is to be contested and ARB announces that the following are standing for election:-

Andrew Mortimer – nominated by Peter Coe and Neil Watts

Richard Parnaby – nominated by Susan Ware and Alex Wright

A ballot will be held on 21 June 2012, and the results announced thereafter.

Notes for Editors

ARB is the statutory body established by Parliament under the Architects Act 1997 to regulate the UK architects’ profession in the public interest. The Act requires ARB (among other things) to:

  • Maintain the Register of Architects (Section 3)
  • Prescribe qualifications for entry to the Register of Architects (Section 4)
  • Deal with competence to practise (Section 9)
  • Issue a Code which lays down standards of professional conduct and practice (Section 13)
  • Regulate use of the title “architect” and prosecute those who use it unlawfully (Section 20)

Andrew Mortimer and Richard Parnaby are architect members of the Board.

Board members serve for a term of three years. They can, if re-elected or re-appointed, serve for two consecutive terms, six years in total. A Board member who has held office for a continuous period of six years may not be elected or appointed as a member until at least three years have elapsed since he or she last held office. Board members receive an allowance of £250 per day or part thereof spent on Board business.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This